The Athens Cultural Affairs Commission (ACAC) is pleased to announce the selected artists for our new art bus shelters to be installed around Athens-Clarke County. These new shelters are possible due to the efforts of Athens Transit Department as well as support and funding from the ACAC & SPLOST. Two types of shelters will be created: Type 1 (sculptural shelters, completely fabricated by the artist) and Type 2 (standard shelters with customizable lazer-cut panels). Some of the artists have multiple designs that were selected. The artists are as follows:

Type 1:
Lewis Body
David Card
Jessica Colangelo (pictured)
Robert Cummings
Mike Ely
Richard Herzog
Chuck Murphy
Adam Owens
Vivian Studevan
Lawrence Stueck
Joni Younkins-Herzog

Type 2:
Donna Abbott-Toutin
Ruth Allen
Claire Clements
Robert Clements
Rosa Cruz
John English
Will Eskridge
Alice Pruitt
Amol Saraf

Athens is already known far and wide for having artist-designed bus shelters. Between 2005-2009, the Athens Area Arts Council commissioned eleven bus shelters, created by local artists and installed along various Athens Transit System bus lines. The unique installations have sparked conversations, prompted explorations and brought the uniqueness of being an Athenian to our well-regarded Transit System. These shelters serve a practical need as well as connect with people who might not ordinarily seek out public art. The Cultural Affairs Commission is looking forward to adding these new installations to our public collection.

Bus Shelter map

No comments yet. You should be kind and add one!

The comments are closed.