The Athens Cultural Affairs Commission (ACAC) is pleased to present a final version of the Athens Public Art Master Plan! This plan has been submitted to the Mayor and Commission and was presented by urban designer Todd Bressi at the January work session. Once approved, this plan will serve as a roadmap and series of guidelines for development of public art in Athens-Clarke County over the years to come.

Key Program Directions + Project Opportunities:

• Continue to facilitate the inclusion of public
art in capital projects developed by ACCUG.

• Catalyze artist- and community-led
initiatives that bring new approaches to
public art, engage people and connect
various components of the Athens

• Facilitate and guide the creation of more
artist-designed bus shelters and bike racks.

• Facilitate and guide the creation of a
downtown Art Walk and Cultural Trail.

• Facilitate the creation of more murals in

• Advocate for public art in ACCUG planning

We encourage members of the Athens community to pass their comments and support on directly to the Mayor and Commissioners (prior to the vote on March 7th, 6pm) using the contact information provided below.

The Athens Cultural Affairs Commission thanks you all for your continued support and feedback throughout this process of creating a master plan!

Download (PDF, 6.57MB)

Contact info for ACC Unified Government commissions and mayor. If you do not know your district, you can locate that information here.

Sharyn Dickerson
Title: District 1 Commissioner
Phone: 706-613-2416

Harry Sims
Title: District 2 Commissioner
Phone: 706-546-1683

Melissa Link
Title: District 3 Commissioner
Phone: 706-372-3382

Allison Wright
Title: District 4 Commissioner
Phone: 706-549-3518

Jared Bailey
Title: District 5 Commissioner
Phone: 706-338-9019

Jerry NeSmith
Title: District 6 Commissioner
Phone: 706-248-3547

Diane Bell
Title: District 7 Commissioner
Phone: 706-548-0314

Andy Herod
Title: District 8 Commissioner
Phone: 706-543-0281

Kelly Girtz
Title: District 9 Commissioner
Phone: 706-369-9457

Mike Hamby
Title: District 10 Commissioner
Phone: 706-338-3970

Mayor Nancy Denson
+ assistant to the mayor

No comments yet. You should be kind and add one!

The comments are closed.