The Athens Cultural Affairs Commission (ACAC) is pleased to present a final version of the Athens Public Art Master Plan! This plan has been submitted to the Mayor and Commission and was presented by urban designer Todd Bressi at the January work session. Once approved, this plan will serve as a roadmap and series of guidelines for development of public art in Athens-Clarke County over the years to come.

Key Program Directions + Project Opportunities:

• Continue to facilitate the inclusion of public
art in capital projects developed by ACCUG.

• Catalyze artist- and community-led
initiatives that bring new approaches to
public art, engage people and connect
various components of the Athens
community.

• Facilitate and guide the creation of more
artist-designed bus shelters and bike racks.

• Facilitate and guide the creation of a
downtown Art Walk and Cultural Trail.

• Facilitate the creation of more murals in
Athens.

• Advocate for public art in ACCUG planning
projects.

We encourage members of the Athens community to pass their comments and support on directly to the Mayor and Commissioners (prior to the vote on March 7th, 6pm) using the contact information provided below.

The Athens Cultural Affairs Commission thanks you all for your continued support and feedback throughout this process of creating a master plan!

Download (PDF, 6.57MB)

Contact info for ACC Unified Government commissions and mayor. If you do not know your district, you can locate that information here.

Sharyn Dickerson
Title: District 1 Commissioner
Phone: 706-613-2416
sharyn.dickerson@athensclarkecounty.com

Harry Sims
Title: District 2 Commissioner
Phone: 706-546-1683
harry.sims@athensclarkecounty.com

Melissa Link
Title: District 3 Commissioner
Phone: 706-372-3382
melissa.link@athensclarkecounty.com

Allison Wright
Title: District 4 Commissioner
Phone: 706-549-3518
allison.wright@athensclarkecounty.com

Jared Bailey
Title: District 5 Commissioner
Phone: 706-338-9019
jared.bailey@athensclarkecounty.com

Jerry NeSmith
Title: District 6 Commissioner
Phone: 706-248-3547
jerry.nesmith@athensclarkecounty.com

Diane Bell
Title: District 7 Commissioner
Phone: 706-548-0314
diane.bell@athensclarkecounty.com

Andy Herod
Title: District 8 Commissioner
Phone: 706-543-0281
andy.herod@athensclarkecounty.com

Kelly Girtz
Title: District 9 Commissioner
Phone: 706-369-9457
kelly.girtz@athensclarkecounty.com

Mike Hamby
Title: District 10 Commissioner
Phone: 706-338-3970
mike.hamby@athensclarkecounty.com

Mayor Nancy Denson
nancy.denson@athensclarkecounty.com
+ assistant to the mayor deborah.arnold@athensclarkecounty.com

No comments yet. You should be kind and add one!

The comments are closed.